

## JEAN HEBERT

Jean has been a LSHPA member since 1986 (18 years) and is currently an honorary member of the Cajun Horseshoe Pitchers.

Jean began pitching horseshoes in 1983 while in the Welsh Jaycees. With the help of Clayton Iles and Max Degeyter and T-Bryan Chaisson built the first pits at John Blank Sportsman Park in Welsh. He was one of the founding members of the Cajun Horseshoe Pitchers. He has traveled around the area to fairs and festivals promoting horseshoe pitching for many years. In 1986 he joined the LSHPA. Along with Ricky Richard, they have traveled to Jonesville, Bundick Lake, Hackberry, Holly Beach, Baton Rouge, Carencro, Roberts Cove, Lake Charles, Church Point & Eunice to set up tournaments and pitching demonstrations. He is known for recruiting many local pitchers into the LSHPA & Cajun Horseshoe Pitchers. He also helped Clayton Iles build 6 courts in DeRidder for sanction play. He was also a driving force in the construction of the 10 new pits in Welsh. For the first sanction tournaments in Welsh, he made and donated all the plaques for the 1990 season. He has been a great asset to the club and the sport of horseshoe pitching. As an example, after undergoing surgery, he was unable to pitch in the 1999 season, but he attended all of the sanction and league tournaments, doing whatever he could to help. He is currently Vice President of the Cajun Horseshoe Club.

His accomplishments on the Courts include:

- 1988 3<sup>rd</sup> Place Class "F" State Singles
- 1990 3<sup>rd</sup> Place Class "E" State Singles
- 1992 3<sup>rd</sup> Place Class "D" State Singles
- 1995 Class "D" State Doubles Champion (With partner Robert Bergeron)
- Pitched in the World Tournament in 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1995

He has won numerous class championships since 1986.

He was awarded the Sid Plott Memorial in 1996 &1999 for hard work and support to the Cajun Horseshoe Club.

He was the Southwest Regional Director for the LSHPA from 1996 to 2002

He has pitched in the Orange County Texas Horseshoe Tournament numerous times and

he and T-Bryan Chaisson were crowned Tournament Champions in 1989 and again in 1990.